Chris Daniel 10/29/70 – 1/11/13

This is Jason Daniel, Chris’ brother.  I regret to inform everyone that Chris passed away Friday evening after continued complications due to what has been discovered to be CIDP (Chronic Inflammatory Polyneuropathy).  Many here knew Chris had diabetes, but by the time the doctors discovered it was the CIDP and not the diabetes, it was too late.  It was due to this debilitating disease that has kept him from updating the site as he had been unable to use his arms or legs for quite some time.  He died with his family who loved him at his side, and while we mourn our loss, we rejoice knowing he is now enjoying his new body that we know God has given him.

I do not know what will become of this site.  It was always something that brought him much joy sharing the music from an older generation that had ministered to him his whole life.  Those interested in possibly helping with the site from here may contact me by leaving a comment to this post.  Personal information will not be posted as he has it set up to require approval before posting, so feel free to leave an email and I’ll respond through email.

Lastly, most of you won’t know, but he could make a piano sing.  Some of the most memorable times in my life was in the studio, playing and singing with he and my father (you’ll find his music on this site under Tim Daniel), and even though Satan took that ministry from him even years before his death, he couldn’t erase that ministry from being shared to others.  Please take a short moment and allow Chris the opportunity to bless you with his anointed gifts here accompanying my father at the following link.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GOnTgzjdybo

Tim Daniel / The Garden of My Soul from the cd Springs of Salvation

Thank you.

38 Responses to “Chris Daniel 10/29/70 – 1/11/13”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Jason:
    Really sorry to hear about your brother.. but he brought joy and left
    a stone of remembrance on this side of the river, i found his site by (accident) but all of my early Jesus music was either lost or given away, and now i enjoy listening to the early stuff, it reminds me of my first love,when serving the Lord was all you wanted to do, now
    that i am getting on in age my self, i just want to keep serving and
    can hardly wait to see him myself. but now when i listen i will also
    Give thanks for your Brothers service to us.

    Thanks again
    Gordon

  2. Charles H Says:

    Condolences to you and your family. Your brother did a very good thing with this blog. He touched the lives of many people with the wonderful gift of music by creating this site. Hopefully, those people will go on to touch others. Until you see him again, may God grant you and your family peace and joy.

  3. Tina Says:

    Rest in peace Chris!! Thanks for all the music you provide.

  4. Troy Bowman Says:

    Chris…I will miss you! You have been such a blessing to me. Thank you! I have talked with Chris and felt some of his pains and had visited this site too many times to count. It would be a shame if this site was no longer managed by someone. Most of the information on it is not found anywhere else. I would love to help out if possible with maintaining it. I love site because so many of the artists here had touched me in different ways. Listening to a song brings back a ‘Christ moment’ from my past. Chris… I bet you are dancing with the angels now! Goodby friend!

  5. Jerry Says:

    I am so glad for Chris now. He is experiencing now what we all long for in the future. He now has full vision and full movement of a body to worship. Remarkable promotion. See ya on the other side Chris.

    I would be interested in helping with the site in any way such as managing, contributing, or moderating. Just let me know.

  6. Jim V Says:

    Hello Jason. So sorry for your loss however, I rejoice with you for the life of your brother Chris. What a blessing to know that God is real and we will see Him and your brother face to face someday.

    This site was a treasure. I have a radio station and play “Old Christian Contemporary Music” on it and have utilized this site often. I would be interested in keeping it “alive” to the glory of God and in the memory of your brother if you so wished. Please let me know if this is something you and your family would want.

    May God bless you and your family,
    Jim V
    http://www.Hymnjimsradio.com

  7. Walter Shoup Says:

    Wishing your family all of God’s blessings in this time of loss. May he give you comfort and peace and I offer my family’s condolences. I have been truly blessed by the work he has done here. I have spent years trying to collect some of the albums he provided here. I spent endless hours on ebay putting back together my collection of cassette tapes in a digital form. He got many of them that I never could find. My kids keep telling me to get out of the 80’s and 90’s music wise. I hope that you take pride in the way your brother touched so many people even in his illness. Again our hearts go out to you and your family and his wife.

    The Shoup family

  8. michael Says:

    So sorry to hear for your loss, always loved his sight and he brought a lot of music to my attention that I never would of know about. God Bless.

  9. Anonymous Says:

    Sorry to hear the unfortunate news about Chris. What he did with this site has blessed me through all the years. Today I noticed the site is no longer running, which is a sad day for future generations to be blessed with the labour of Chris devotion to music and it’s ministry. Rest in peace Chris and thank you!

  10. Brad Says:

    So sorry to hear of your loss. Your brother created a great site! It is so nice to see these tracks made available. Many of them can’t be found on iTunes. Praise God your brother is now whole.

  11. Mario Says:

    Sorry to hear the unfortunate news about Chris. His site has truly blessed me through out the years. Now that the site has been taken down, it is sad to know that people will not be able to experience the devotion Chris shared on his site through the ministry of music. Rest in peace Chris and thanks!

  12. Donald Says:

    Condolences. Has this site been taken down now? None of the selections are available any longer?

  13. Myles Says:

    I just discovered this site about 2 weeks ago and it is so cool. It’s great to be able to download a bunch of albums from the past that I figured were gone forever. Really sorry to hear about the passing of Chris though.
    I’m finding now that when I try to download any album, I’m getting an error message at Rapidshare that says “Download permission denied by uploader. (0b67c2f5)” Do you know if this is due to something I’m doing wrong on my end? It was working great just a few days ago.
    Thanks again!

  14. Ian MacFarlane Says:

    Condolences to the family – thinking of you during this time. Please keep me updated 🙂

  15. Janet Garner-Smith Says:

    I only found this site a few weeks ago and it was great to be able to download digital versions of a lot of music I still have as vinyl records, bought in the 70s and 80s. I hope someone reinstates the site. It was a great ministry. Thanks.

  16. Derek D Says:

    My condolences Jason,

    Before I get int my story of finding this site I wanted to offer taking it over and keeping it going. I understand you have a lot of interest. Anyway I hope you will keep me in mind.

    I happily found your brothers website about a year and a half ago when I redid my music collection.

    I was trying to find all my old records and cassettes sometimes I was just looking for the art work for iTunes. For se of the rare items Chris’ site would be the only thing I found.

    Then later Chris and I exchanged a few emails and phone calls while I took my music to the next level by trying to discover new old music I might like.

    Chris was very generous with his time and advice.

    His input will be missed.

    Derek

  17. Tim Bannister Says:

    Am very sorry to hear of your loss, and in a way our loss also. I have read with interest and with concern over the status of this site. I was introduced to Contemporary Christian Music in 1974 some 9 years before I became a Christian. The music I listened to dated back to the late sixties and by 1985 I was working in Christian Radio with a heart for the Jesus People movement and the music of the 60’s-early 90’s. I have a very large personal collection from that era both CD and Vinyl and am working on digitizing the entire collection. It hurts thinking of the work that is in this site and its possible future loss. I am a business owner in Palm Springs, CA with internet knowledge, website knowledge and of course christian oldies. If you feel it is the right direction for the future of Chris’ work please contact me as I would be most interested in seeing it continue, flourish, and grow for those still hungering for the early roots of this great music.Thanks,

    Tim Bannister

  18. LittleGrace Says:

    Hello, I’m sorry to hear your loss. I just found this site today. I wish I found this long time ago so that I could thank sir Chris Daniel for the wonderful blog he made. I am from the younger generation but I have been looking for a collection of old christian music and I really love listening to them. This blog is really amazing. God bless your family.

  19. Anonymous Says:

    I am so sorry to just learn of the passing of Chris. This site was a joy to alot of people. Music that brought back memories of our first love. I pray we can keep the site going in memory of Chris and his love for the Lord. I know he is having the time of his life!

  20. Dennis Willard Says:

    Just learned of the passing of Chris today as I visited the site once again. This site and music is still a blessing to so many. I know he is having the time of his life. The family is in our thoughts and prayers!

  21. osvaldo Says:

    Chris, I just know that Jesus to you received with open arms in your home heavely…Chris ..now joy with your better Friend Jesus.
    Thanks for the greats moments of music. Thank you very much. We’ll miss you….

  22. Dave Says:

    Jason – My sincere condolences to you and the rest of Chris’ family. This site was a true ministry and blessing to me and countless others. Chris had great musical taste; every song brings back fond memories of my early Christian faith as a young teen finding my way. I found the site several months back and was thrilled; it’s been some time since visiting and was saddened to hear of the news. I hope you or someone can keep the torch alive. I would be more than happy to donate and help with any monetary support to help with the efforts. Please let me know how I can help. God Bless!

  23. Dave Says:

    One more thing – I posted the potential solution to the recurring download errors, see below (perhaps this will solve the technical issue?):

    Download permission Denied by Uploader

    This is because RS changed the default setting on all accounts to private. If you want to make your downloads public again, follow these steps:

    Log into your RS account, on the R/S website Go into file manager, Create a new Folder Call it something like “My Shares,” or whatever you want to. You’ll then need to move all your files to that folder, (or one you’ve already created, because you can’t set the permissions on the default) “My Folders,” where all your files would have been stored if you had never created a new subfolder.

    You can mass-move all the files at once, just check off the”Type” on lefthand side little box and move files. to your’e new folder you created.

    Once files are moved Then right click the new folder you moved the files to and choose ‘Privileges.’ You’ll get a pop-up box, and at the bottom of that box is a field that says “public access,” and to the right of that will be three blank check boxes: click the middle one, which is downloads only, then click ‘save.’ You’re done.

  24. Julie Says:

    I’m just now discovering this news.
    I’m SO sorry for your family’s loss.
    THANK YOU, Jason, so much for coming here to bless us all with even just the info.
    I never recognized that he (and you) are related to the Tim Daniels that I must have discovered through this very site. I’ve been so blessed by your dad’s music too!
    May God lead you in your decision regarding this ministry. It surely has blessed me as well as many others. I have a small collection of cds of older Christian music I’d love to share with whomever takes over the administration of this site to publish here.

  25. Anonymous Says:

    So sad to hear of your brother. My prayers are with you.

  26. Anonymous Says:

    Thank you Jason! Your brother was a blessing to so many through this site. It is a comfort to know he is now in the presence of the Lord, 2 Cor. 5:8!!!

  27. J. Patrick Morgan Says:

    Like others, I am just now discovering the news here. I offer the condolences of myself and my family to you and yours. What your brother did here was a gracious thing, and I can personally relate to his love for this genre of music.

    I own a lot of these titles, however my copies are all on cassette. Over the decades and several inter-state moves, they have degraded significantly. Through his efforts, your brother had provided me with a way to retain clean mp3 copies.

    I would like to contact you privately with regards to the rapidshare piece, at your earliest leisure.

  28. JB Says:

    Just recently discovered this site by accident last summer. I became a Christian in the mid-90’s, out of high school. The sad fact is, even in the Christian music industry, music is sometimes treated as disposable. Even secular music at least has stations that play music first heard decades earlier. Not necessarily so for Christian stations. By the time I started to listen, and be encouraged by Christian music in the mid-90’s, the earliest music heard on contemporary Christian stations was possibly no earlier than early 90’s. Nor did any discussion of the at-length history of Christian music or examples seem to officially occur within “CCM.” Essentially, to my mind, Christian music seemed sparce before the 90’s; thought I knew it not to be true (except for Amy Grant, Michael W. Smith, and others who were prominent). I am very thankful to have discovered this site; to learn and enjoy the fruit of the Gospel through music in previous generations. I particularly love 80’s music, and discovered a treasure trove of artists whose works I had never heard of (and probably never would have). There are names and faces in music that, obviously, were important in people’s lives years ago, but is made to seem to be almost purposely forgotten, buried, left on the side of the road. I don’t think it should have ever been that way. I am grateful for Chris’s labor of love he had invested into this site!

  29. Hernán Guerrero Says:

    I had not been around for a long time. I am shocked. I ran into this site by googling christian music from 80´s and 90´s (I was born in ´76), and I enjoyed much of it. If I can be of any help by assisting in the maintenance of the site, please, let me know. I am from Argentina, by the way. Thanx to Chris, who I know is now resting in His peace.

  30. hosh Says:

    I have great sadness at the loss of a good man who gave blessing to all people by publicizing music, which were unknown to me and gave me hope and encouragement to continue the path of God, to whom I would like to continue to read the ministry that God raised up, but no longer do it for rapidshare there are many problems now, God bless keep rising not leaving the web

  31. John Marshall Says:

    Just let you know, rapidshare has a new rule. A file are private instead of public by default. This has to be changed by the uploader of the file! This is the reason why you can’t get the files! Does anyone else know where I can find servant and David Edwards??? John

  32. liz Says:

    Since Jan 13th 2013 morning Rapidshare changed the default folder settings from public to private. If you haven’t specifically made them public in the permissions they now are locked down. You will need to adjust the permissions for every folder.

  33. Rebecca Says:

    I am sorry for your loss. I too, have lost a brother and can honestly say I understand the hurt.

    I was happy to find this site and take a trip down memory lane looking at the album covers. Names that hadn’t crossed my mind in years were instantly recognizable. Your brother’s work was appreciated.

  34. Lily Carolyn Says:

    RIP Chris Thanks for this wonderful Site. I think the rapidshare changed the sharing policy so someone has to get into his account and change the preference of sharing as “public” from “private”. This will enable all the links and albums can be downloaded

  35. Blue Django Says:

    Totally loved his spirit. RIP Tim. Eric

  36. Tim Greene Says:

    Jason, I haven’t been on this site recently but I also have been blessed over the years by the work your brother did here. I’m very sorry for your loss and wish you and all who knew and loved Chris the peace of knowing that he is with our Lord. I had never met Chris, but get the idea from his tastes in music that we would’ve been buds. I look forward to thanking him personally. In Jesus!

  37. Ruth Abbott Says:

    Dear Jason,

    I am so very sorry that you have lost your brother. What a comfort to know that a loved one was one of Christ’s.

    I was searching tonight for a place to buy single tract MP3s of older CCM songs that I really liked. I am on a fixed income and can’t afford to buy CDs very often. I found this site and was ecstatic. Then I read what you said.

    You mentioned not knowing what the future of this site would be. I can’t just say that I’d be willing to run it for you. I would need to think about it, pray about it, and talk with my husband about it. But I do have time and ability, and a love for the music, as well as a desire to keep it available to those who would be blessed by it.

    I’d like to talk with you about what help you would need to keep it available to people, and what I might be able to do to meet that need.

    Again, I’m so very sorry for your loss. Ruth Abbott, at:

    wwjda2z4unme@yahoo.com

  38. karimi moses Says:

    so sorry for your loss..i am in Kenya,right at the heart of east Africa..this site and its content has blessed me so.

Leave a Reply

